PDA

View Full Version : Need some help please!

floodcitygirl
12-17-2006, 12:06 AM
I am going to be coming into quite a bit of deer meat soon. I have very little experience cooking with it. If any of you have some tried and true recipes that you're willing to share, I would really appreciate it. I'll have roasts, stewing meat, steaks, ground....everything. Thanks in advance!

SteelShooter
12-17-2006, 02:31 AM
Here are two quickies:

1)
- Slightly brown some stew meat or small steaks, remove them temporarily.
- Sprinkle flour into the skillet and brown the flower as well.
- Then S L O W L Y mix in a little milk to make a gravy and place the browned meat back into it.
- Season with Salt and Pepper to meet your taste.
- Serve over brown rice (my favorite for this), but white will do as well.

2)
- For a super quick meal for the adventuresome:
- Place small to medium pieces of venison on foil and Salt/Pepper (very LITTLE Salt).
- Pour a jar of Mild or Medium Salsa over it all and fold the foil into a tent.
- Bake at 350F until done (usually about 20-30mins for a two person serving, add 10mins or so for each two adults worth of food you prepare).
- This one is best over spanish rice, but white rice tastes really well with this also.

There's 2 for you FCG!

SteelShooter
12-17-2006, 02:38 AM
Venison makes wonderful jerky as well. It's probably my favorite, with elk following.

Although I have never made it myself, I love ostrich jerkey as well!

Dehydrators can be purchased very cheaply nowadays, check WalMart and other discount stores, or even online. They come with seasoning starter kits, and other seasoning mixes can be purchased separately. Definitive Instructions come with it all, of course.

lamberts-lost-tooth
12-17-2006, 05:17 AM
Venison Pot Roast,

about 3 pounds of Roast
flour
salt and pepper
1 tbsp. vegetable oil or shortening
1/2 cup chopped onion
2 cups beef broth, hot
1 can tomatoes
2 tsp. oregano
2 tsp. garlic powder
Salt and pepper to taste if needed