View Full Version : Townsend, Keisel and Holmes Earn Steelers' 2006 Pro Football Writers Awards

12-23-2006, 09:31 AM

Townsend, Keisel and Holmes Earn Steelers' 2006 Pro Football Writers Awards

PITTSBURGH ? Steelers cornerback Deshea Townsend, defensive end Brett Keisel and wide receiver Santonio Holmes were named the 2006 recipients of the Pittsburgh chapter of Pro Football Writers of America's annual awards.

Keisel and Townsend shared honors as co-recipients of the Pro Football Writers' "Chief Award", presented annually to the member of the Steelers' organization who best exemplifies the spirit of cooperation with the media. This year marked the first time in history that there was a tie for first place for the award, which was established in honor of Steelers founder, Arthur J. Rooney, Sr.

Townsend, a nine-year veteran, has been a stabilizing force for the Steelers' young secondary. One of the longest-tenured players on the Steelers roster, Townsend's 15.5 career sacks are the most ever by a Steelers cornerback. His 15 career interceptions are also the most of any player on the Steelers roster.

Keisel, a five-year veteran, moved into the Steelers starting lineup at right defensive end for the first time this season and has set career highs in tackles (52) and sacks (5.5), while leading the team with 20 quarterback pressures.

Holmes, Pittsburgh's first-round selection this past year, was a unanimous choice as the winner of the "Joe Greene Great Performance Award", given to the outstanding Steelers' rookie. His 40 receptions and 610 receiving yards both rank second on the team. Holmes has also been a big contributor in the Steelers' special teams where he leads the team with a 10.3-yard punt return average (25 returns for 258 yards) and returned his first career punt for a touchdown when he scored from 65 yards out against the Carolina Panthers in Week 15. He also leads the team with 390 yards on 16 kickoff returns (24.4 avg.). On Oct. 15, versus Kansas City, Holmes received NFL Rookie of the Week honors after accounting for 180 all-purpose yards (58 receiving, 13 rushing, 55 on punt returns and 54 on kickoff returns).

A listing of the award winners include:

"Joe Greene Great Performance Award" Winners:

1984 WR Louis Lipps

1985 P Harry Newsome

1986 LB Anthony Henton

1987 CB Delton Hall

1988 RB Warren Williams

1989 SS Carnell Lake

1990 TE Eric Green

1991 TE Adrian Cooper

1992 FS Darren Perry

1993 LB Chad Brown

1994 RB Bam Morris

1995 QB Kordell Stewart

1996 FB Jon Witman

1997 CB Chad Scott

1998 OG Alan Faneca

1999 WR Troy Edwards

2000 FB Dan Kreider

2001 LB Kendrell Bell

2002 OG Kendall Simmons

2003 S Troy Polamalu

2004 QB Ben Roethlisberger

2005 TE Heath Miller

2006 Santonio Holmes

"The Chief Award" Winners:

1988 Dan Rooney

1989 Dwayne Woodruff

1990 Merril Hoge
1991 Gerald Williams

1992 Tunch Ilkin

1993 D.J. Johnson

1994 Rod Woodson

1995 Levon Kirkland

1996 Chad Brown

1997 Darren Perry

1998 Jerome Bettis

1999 Lee Flowers

2000 Jerome Bettis

2001 Lee Flowers

2002 Hines Ward

2003 Mike Logan

2004 Jerome Bettis

2005 Alan Faneca

2006 Brett Keisel

Deshea Townsend

12-23-2006, 04:06 PM
I was a huge Delton Hall fan, I thought he was the next HOF corner here, then he had a bum knee and was never the same. I met him at a Steelers vs. brownies flag football game, he was only 29. And done.

12-24-2006, 11:43 PM
you gotta love Brett Keisel. he's an awesome player and a great guy. I've met him several times and he's always been extremely nice and friendly.