PDA

View Full Version : 2007 NFL Calendar - What happens & when


Livinginthe past
01-05-2007, 10:30 PM
February 8, Thursday

* First day clubs can designate Franchise or Transition players.

February 12, Monday

* Waiver system begins for 2007. Players with at least four previous pension-credited seasons whom clubs desire to terminate are not subject to the waiver system until after the trading deadline in October.

February 21, Wednesday through February 27, Tuesday

* NFL Combine Timing and Testing Sessions at the RCA Dome in Indianapolis, IN

February 22, Thursday

* Deadline for designation of Franchise/Transition players

March 1, Thursday


* Expiration date of all player contracts due to expire after 2006 season.
* Deadline for clubs to submit Qualifying Offers to Restricted Free Agents whose contracts are expiring.
* Deadline for clubs to submit minimum salary offers to Exclusive Rights Free Agents (players with less than three years of free agency credit).

March 2, Friday

* Free Agency period begins (see p. 96 for explanation of free agent categories).
* Trading period begins for 2007

March 19, Monday

* Clubs may begin voluntary off-season workout programs

April 20, Friday

* Deadline for signing and submission of Offer Sheets by Restricted Free Agents

April 27, Friday

* Deadline for Old Clubs to match Offer Sheets submitted by Restricted Free Agents

April 28, Saturday & April 29, Sunday

* NFL Draft in New York City, NY

June 1, Friday

* Deadline for old club to send tender to its unsigned Restricted Free Agents or to extend Qualifying Offer, whichever is greater, in order to retain rights.
* Also, deadline for old club to send tender to its unsigned Unrestricted Free Agents to retain rights if player is not signed by another club by July 22 or beginning of veteran training camp, whichever is earlier.

July 14, Saturday

* Any club designating a Franchise Player shall have until 4 pm EDT to sign the player to a multi-year contract or extension. After July 14 the player may sign only a one-year Player Contract with his Prior Club, and such Player Contract may not be extended until after the club’s last regular season game.

July 14, Saturday

* Any club designating a Franchise Player shall have until 4 pm EDT to sign the player to a multi-year contract or extension. After July 14 the player may sign only a one-year Player Contract with his Prior Club, and such Player Contract may not be extended until after the club’s last regular season game.

July 22, Sunday
* Signing period ends at 4:00 PM ET for unrestricted free agents who received June 1 tender.