PDA

View Full Version : Stoopid Questions 101

Kittyfish
03-21-2007, 09:52 AM
*takes deep breath*

verks36 kindly told me in the introductions forum:

Feel free to ask stupid question i can assure you willl get you question anserwed without being made fun of. This is a great steeler community with a common theme a love for da stillers. So as long as you love the steelers you are fine.

I am going to make the huge assumption that maybe some other people are as ignorant as I am about some things. I'm not really sure where to put this - no other forum seemed appropiate. Mods, please move if I guessed wrong.

Let me stress I do love me some Steelers - I am fairly new to the football world in general and am still trying to learn about the game. I'm sure my father could have helped me with some of my queries, but unfortunately he passed just about the time I became interested in football. Never mind he was a huge Redskins fan (I grew up near DC) and I was exposed to football all my life but never cared until 2001.

Here are a few stupid questions to start you off, not all of them Steelers related:

1) The Steelers seem to be known for their gadget plays. Why doesn't everybody use them more often? Anybody is allowed to throw the football, right? Wouldn't it be really confusing to the opposing team if they never really knew what was going to happen, if the offense mixed it up a lot of the time? I realize not everybody can throw a good spiral, but a lot of non-quarterbacks can throw a decent ball, and several players seem to have been quarterbacks in college, if not in the pros (Ward, Randle El).

2) When did quarterbacks stop calling the plays? I thought it was part of the quarterback's job to run the offense, or at least it was in the past. Why did this change?