PDA

View Full Version : Tanning Beds

HometownGal
05-17-2007, 03:47 PM
I'm not a happy camper right now and thought I would share my recent experience with the ladies of the forum who might use tanning beds.

I have been tanning for quite a few years - I can't stand to be a ghost - LOL! I have been going to the same salon for several years and one of the reasons I have continued to go there is because the place was so clean you could eat off of the floors. Or - so I thought.

I went to tan as usual on Tuesday and used a new tanner/bronzer that I just purchased. I've used other products from Fiji before and have never had a problem. When I got home after tanning, my legs were so itchy I almost scratched them raw. What I saw when I looked at my legs horrified me. There were clusters of raised red bumps on both of my legs and after "investigating further" :wink02:, I found more of them on the undersides of my arms and some on my back. I thought for sure it was the new tanning lotion, but after seeing my doc this morning on an unrelated matter, I learned that what I have is NOT an allergic reaction, but an infection which he strongly feels I obtained from the tanning bed not being properly cleaned and NOT the tanning lotion. While I am sure there are microscopic bacteria that can't be seen with the human eye, a proper cleaning of the bed with an antibacterial spray would greatly lessen the chances of anyone contracting any type of heebie jeebies from an infected person (who should have the decency to stay the hell away from the tanning beds while infected). :mad: He suggested getting an antibiotic OTC cream and applying it to the affected areas for several days and if that doesn't do the trick, he will write me a script for something stronger. I am going to be sure to mention this to the salon owner the next time I go up there to tan. I think I'll also now carry a bottle of antibacterial spray to clean the damned bed myself before I put my body in it.