PDA

View Full Version : Newbie rules question.


Stu Pidasso
11-11-2007, 11:01 PM
Sorry for the n00b question guys, but here goes:

The rules state that intentional grounding by the quarterback is when a QB intentionally throws an incomplete pass to nobody while he is within the tackles.

So when the QB spikes the ball to stop the clock, is that also intentional grounding? Why or why not?

Dynasty
11-11-2007, 11:11 PM
no its recognized as being designed to do that... its just a clock killer and whoever makes the rules realizes that so its not a penalty... i dont know that for sure, but it sounds about right to me.

jjpro11
11-11-2007, 11:15 PM
it sounds like one of those "common sense" type rules.. like in college football, the place holder is technically down by rules when he catches the ball for the kicker to kick.. but since its for a kick, the rule is disregarded.

Rhee Rhee
11-12-2007, 01:38 AM
i never thought of that college rule...

Physical Presence
11-12-2007, 05:20 AM
To be ruled intentional grounding, the QB has to be trying to avoid a loss. That isn't the case with clocking the ball. He's tryiing to kill the clock, two totally different things.