PDA

View Full Version : Steelers to install new sod at Heinz Field Saturday

alittlejazzbird
11-21-2007, 04:22 PM
Now, I'm no landscaping expert, but I can't fathom how sod that isn't secured is going to be a steady, reliable surface on which to get and maintain good footing. I have a bad feeling about this...and darn it, I wish the Rooneys would just GET RID OF THAT GRASSMASTER ONCE AND FOR ALL!!!

Steelers to install new sod at Heinz Field Saturday
Wednesday, November 21, 2007
By Ed Bouchette, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Heinz Field will have a new look to it when the Steelers play the Dolphins Monday night.

It will have a whole new field.

The Post-Gazette has learned that the Steelers this weekend will cover their entire field with new sod, placing it over the DD GrassMaster field that is mostly composed of grass. However, that grass has deteriorated as usual into November and it won't be any better after the four WPIAL high school championship games are played at Heinz Field Friday, followed by Pitt vs. South Florida Saturday afternoon.

The current turf won't be replaced but covered up by the new sod, which is heavy enough that it won't have to be tied down. The work will begin after Pitt's game ends.

It's the first time sod will cover the DD GrassMaster that was installed four years ago.

"Our goal is to do everything in our power to provide the best possible conditions for both teams,'' Jimmie Sacco,, director of Heinz Stadium management said in a statement released by the Steelers this afternoon.

"After considering the number of high school, college and pro football games being played at Heinz Field in November, combined with the possibility of inclement weather, we believe this will be the best way to go.

"We will continue to use our regular playing surface in the future, but feel this option will provide for the most enjoyable game day experience for both the players and the fans in the final games of the season."