PDA

View Full Version : Stop for the school bus.

PisnNapalm
12-12-2007, 10:48 AM
As many of you know I am a school bus driver. When someone does not stop for our flashing red lights we are obligated to try and get as much information about the car as possible.

We turn this information in to the local police department and they will send the driver a nice ticket in the mail.

Today.... I had a driver follow me down the street. He was behind me when I activated my flashing yellow warning lights. He was behind me when I stopped and activated the red warning lights and flashing automatic stop sign on the side of my bus. He then passed me on the left.

I hit the horn and he stopped immediately with his rear bumper even with the front of my bus. This allowed me to easily read his plate number. He then put the car in reverse for about a second before giving me a dismissive wave. Then he put it back into drive and took off down the street.

I should also say that he did all of this while talking on his cell phone.

So this morning after my run I filled out the paper work and turned the guy in to the police. In about a week he should receive a monster ticket in the mail. He'll most likely try to fight it.

The penalty in Pennsylvania for running through a school bus' red lights is::

1. 60 days suspended license
2. 5 points on your license
3. $250 fine

I'm expecting a call anytime now from the officer who will be handling the case.

Please.... Pay attention when you're driving and be especially vigilant when you see a school bus.

The child I was picking up at the time is a special needs child. He sometimes tries to break out of his mother's grip and run to the bus. I would hate to see him break free and decide to run past my bus into the street.

Thanks for reading.

PN

Counselor
12-12-2007, 10:55 AM
Wow! people are idiots. thanks for the post.

MACH1
12-12-2007, 10:59 AM