PDA

View Full Version : "Reviving" a dead TV remote


stillers4me
04-05-2008, 10:46 AM
We almost spent $60 bucks to order a replacement remote for our Sony Wega HD TV (it's about 4-5 years old). The site I was going to order it from had this tip.......and it worked! I sent them a thank you e-mail and told them I would definitely remember their site when the day comes to really replace it. www.remotes.com

Dead" Remotes Can Be Saved
How to Re-Start Your "Dead" Remote Control
This only takes about a minute and will restart 1 in 3 "Dead" Original Remote Controls. Good Luck!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Step 1- Pull the batteries out of the remote and leave them out until Step 4.

Step 2- Press and release each and every button one at a time on the remote control until every button has been pressed and released at least once!

Step 3- If your remote has slide switches, you must move the switch to each position then repeat the button pushing in Step 2.
(When you're done, be sure to put the slide switch in the correct position to operate the unit the remote came with!)

Step 4- Put the batteries back into the remote, being very careful to install them correctly.
New batteries should be used if you're not sure about the old ones.

Step 5- Try the remote.

If it works, Great!
If not, it's time to call 1-800-Remotes or use this website to order a new remote.

lamberts-lost-tooth
04-05-2008, 11:31 AM
We almost spent $60 bucks to order a replacement remote for our Sony Wega HD TV (it's about 4-5 years old). The site I was going to order it from had this tip.......and it worked! I sent them a thank you e-mail and told them I would definitely remember their site when the day comes to really replace it. www.remotes.com

Dead" Remotes Can Be Saved
How to Re-Start Your "Dead" Remote Control
This only takes about a minute and will restart 1 in 3 "Dead" Original Remote Controls. Good Luck!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Step 1- Pull the batteries out of the remote and leave them out until Step 4.

Step 2- Press and release each and every button one at a time on the remote control until every button has been pressed and released at least once!

Step 3- If your remote has slide switches, you must move the switch to each position then repeat the button pushing in Step 2.
(When you're done, be sure to put the slide switch in the correct position to operate the unit the remote came with!)

Step 4- Put the batteries back into the remote, being very careful to install them correctly.
New batteries should be used if you're not sure about the old ones.

Step 5- Try the remote.

If it works, Great!
If not, it's time to call 1-800-Remotes or use this website to order a new remote.

Thanks for the tip!!!...Generally I get all cheap and buy a universal remote....then bitch about not having certain features.

stillers4me
04-05-2008, 11:50 AM
We thought about getting a universal remote, but it's the only remote (the cable remote works the TV, too) that changes the screen size and changes the channel from dvd, cable 1, cable 2, etc. Those are must have features. We use the cable remote for everything else. Only noticed it wasn't working when we tried to switch and watch a dvd.

But the tip worked........ I thought that was nice of them to tell about that. They would have had a sale otherwise. There really are some honest people out there!

The Duke
04-05-2008, 01:16 PM
wow!

stillers4me, you just fixed my 4 month broken remote. thanks so much for this tip!!

stillers4me
04-05-2008, 01:41 PM
wow!

stillers4me, you just fixed my 4 month broken remote. thanks so much for this tip!!

My pleasure! Mine was almost in the garbage, too!