PDA

View Full Version : Steelers Should Look at These Players


Elvis
04-10-2008, 05:18 AM
I know that I am gonna get flooded with negative publicity out of this first segment, but here goes.

TE's
Craig Stevens 6'5 243 lbs California
The best blocker in the draft and was pretty darn strong with a 28 total reps at the combine, and has decent hands. The Steelers dont have a dominating TE blocker and havent since Mark Bruener was playing in Pittsburgh.

Dustin Keller 6'2" 242 Purdue
This guy is moving up all the boards after a strong showing at the combines and he is one of the very best receivers in the draft at this position, and could even line up at WR at times.

Brad Cottam 6'8" 275 Tennessee
This guy would have to be taken probably in the 2nd round, so I dont see the Steelers getting their hands Brad. He has great size and hands to match.

Next Up: DE's

Rhee Rhee
04-10-2008, 06:13 PM
ur missing michigan state's kellen davis who can also be a 3-4 OLB/DE if need be

Galax Steeler
04-11-2008, 03:53 AM
Brad cottam is huge.

Jeremy
04-11-2008, 08:28 AM
ur missing michigan state's kellen davis who can also be a 3-4 OLB/DE if need be

Davis will be a decent pro at one of the positions he played in college, but not in both of them.

I've said it before and I'll say it again, give me the SEC guy over the PAC 10 or Big 11 guy any day of the week. He's more used to big games and has played against better competition.

BettisFan
04-11-2008, 09:06 AM
Mabey a blocking tight end to compeat but we dont need a TE

Rhee Rhee
04-13-2008, 04:02 AM
Davis will be a decent pro at one of the positions he played in college, but not in both of them.

I've said it before and I'll say it again, give me the SEC guy over the PAC 10 or Big 11 guy any day of the week. He's more used to big games and has played against better competition.

SEC guys playing against better competition i agree with but bigger games idk... true the SEC has much more games that are nationally televised but it's all about the adrenaline and emotion the players have while playing and i personally think that ohio state-michigan is one of the biggest games of the year no matter how bad the teams are..

btw nice avatar :jammin:

Galax Steeler
04-13-2008, 06:44 AM
Mabey a blocking tight end to compeat but we dont need a TE

Definatly not a tight end.

Texasteel
04-13-2008, 07:42 AM
I think our 3rd TE is probable already of the team. I recall that there was 2 others last year, I can't remember the names, that they seemed to like quite a bit.

xXTheSteelKingsXx
04-13-2008, 08:17 AM
I think our 3rd TE is probable already of the team. I recall that there was 2 others last year, I can't remember the names, that they seemed to like quite a bit.

I believe you mean Dekker and Boyd.

Jeremy
04-13-2008, 09:10 AM
SEC guys playing against better competition i agree with but bigger games idk... true the SEC has much more games that are nationally televised but it's all about the adrenaline and emotion the players have while playing and i personally think that ohio state-michigan is one of the biggest games of the year no matter how bad the teams are..

btw nice avatar :jammin:

Michigan-Ohio State?

OK.....I'll give you one big game in the Little 11. In the meantime, you have Georgia/Florida, Tennessee/Florida, Alabama/Auburn, Tennessee/Alabama, etc. Every week you have a big game in the SEC. You just can't say that in any other conference.

The players coming out of the SEC are simply better prepared for playing in at NFL enviroment than players from other conferences.

19ward86
04-13-2008, 09:22 AM
we have 3, that is enough (heath miller, matt spaeth, john dekker).

lilyoder6
04-13-2008, 09:52 AM
yeah i am happy w/ the te's we have now.. and if u look at it the production we got from miller and speath last yr.. we could be a legitament number 1 team w/ a good duo of te's..

Elvis
04-14-2008, 06:35 AM
Defensive Ends

Derrick Harvey 6'4" 271 Florida
This guy is probably one of the best overall DE in the draft, but I still havent forgotten the past when the Steelers drafted another Gator in the 1st round when we took Huey Richardson, the supposedly next Lawrence Taylor... he made it 2 years and never seen the field.

Kendall Langford 6'5" 287 Hampton
This is the sleeper of the draft or the bust of the mid/late rounds. This guy has all the tools and only time will tell how he pans out.

Marcus Dixon 6'4" 292 Hampton
Played across from Langford and played well. Could also be a sleeper.

Phillip Merling Clemson
Has great size, but some questions about his health.

Kentwan Balmer 6'4" 308 UNC
This guy had one great year in college, but does this carry over into the NFL or was it the motivations' of Butch Davis and Co. there at Carolina?

Trevor Laws 6'1" 304 Notre Dame
This guy everyone says is too short at the DT position, but all he does is make play after play. He will be a nice addition to some team as a runstopper.

Dre Moore 6'4"305 Maryland
I dont know alot about this guy myself, but the signs are that he is good against the run and that is pretty much what the Steelers are looking for out of their DT's.

Elvis
04-15-2008, 06:24 AM
Offensive Linemen

Jake Long, Michigan (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/jake_long.html)
Ryan Clady, Boise St. (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/ryan_clady.html)
Chris Williams, Vanderbilt (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/chris_williams.html)
Jeff Otah, Pitt (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/jeff_otah.html)
Sam Baker, USC (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/sam_baker.html)
Gosder Cherilus, Boston College (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/gosder_cherilus.html)
Tony Hills, Texas (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/tony_hills.html)
Anthony Collins, Kansas (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/anthony_collins.html)
Carl Nicks, Nebraska (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/carl_nicks.html)
Barry Richardson, Clemson (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/barry_richardson.html)Guard

Branden Albert, Virginia (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/brandon_albert.html)
Chilo Rachal, USC (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/chilo_rachal.html)
Oniel Cousins, UTEP (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/oniel_cousins.html)
Eric Young, Tennessee (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/eric_young.html)
Roy Schuening, Oregon St. (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/roy_schuening.html)
Jordan Grimes, Purdue (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/jordan_grimes.html)
Shannon Tevaga, UCLA (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/shannon_tevaga.html)
Drew Radovich, USC (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/drew_radovich.html)
Jeremy Zuttah, Rutgers (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/jeremy_zuttah.html)
Kerry Brown, Appalachian St. (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/kerry_brown.html)Center

Mike Pollak, Arizona St. (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/mike_pollak.html)
Steve Justice, Wake Forest (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/steve_justice.html)
John Sullivan, Notre Dame (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/john_sullivan.html)
Kory Lichtensteiger, Bowling Green (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/kory_lichtensteiger.html)
Cody Wallace, Texas AM (http://www.footballsfuture.com/2008/prospects/cody_wallace.html)

Elvis
04-15-2008, 06:29 AM
I know that we dont really have a realistic chance at getting OT prospects.. Long and Clady, but with Williams and Cherilous and Nicks and Richardson I think that the Steelers cant go wrong. I think that Nicks will be a 2nd rounder, but the rest are 1st round talents. I think that one OT they failed to rank as high as they should have is Sam Baker from USC. Baker is a 4 year starter at a great university with alot of talent and good competition and played all-america style football for the Trojans. It wouldnt bother me a bit to see the Steelers select this young man number one at all.
OG Roy Schuening would be a nice selection in the 2nd round.

Rhee Rhee
04-16-2008, 01:46 AM
back to your DE prospects phillip merling sits at the top of my wishlist for D-linemen...

as i've said before on numerous other threads the man is a beast that can play 3-4 DE and 4-3 DT/DE.. which means he's a 3-down player that can shift inside next to casey hampton on obvious passing downs and rush the passer... or can be opposite woodley on the outside of the line when we rush 4...

IMO he's the next richard seymour... and if we utilize him correctly he could be the anchor of our 3-4 D-line for years to come and could make a seamless transition to a 4-3 if tomlin decides to switch once lebeau retires...

Galax Steeler
04-16-2008, 03:51 AM
With the 5 centers elvis had listed there if we can get one later in the rounds should we take one and start grooming over the next couple of years.

rdsovchen
04-16-2008, 09:21 PM
just a test to see my new signiature, what do you think?:rofl:

Rhee Rhee
04-17-2008, 03:28 AM
What do you guys think of OG Eric Young from Tennessee? I could see us picking him up in the 3rd round or so. He has very quick feet and great size. He's pretty strong as well.

he was the number one rated guard at one point this year...

i'd say he'd be a good pickup and he might even be available in the 4th or so..

Galax Steeler
04-17-2008, 03:44 AM
he was the number one rated guard at one point this year...

i'd say he'd be a good pickup and he might even be available in the 4th or so..

If we could land him in the fourth that wouldn't be a bad pick up.