PDA

View Full Version : Rooting for injuries...

stlrtruck
09-10-2008, 11:03 AM
Hey I'm not a proponent of cheering for someone to get hurt but this post at Steelers Fury is hilarious:

http://www.steelerfury.com/articles/title/Were-From-the-Town-with-the-Great-Football-Team-Rooting-for-Injuries/

Rooting for Injuries by Swissvale72by SteelFury!09/09/2008One might think that given my history of knee injuries, I would have more compassion, not be so cavalier about rooting for injuries to opponents of the Pittsburgh Steelers. Actually, I take the opposite tact; my injury history affords me license to root for injury with a clear conscience. It’s insufficient to suggest that one simply root for injury. It’s a more complex situation than that, hence the following analysis:

The Competitive Advantage Injury: The lone cardinal rule of rooting for injuries is to always, always, always, always, without exception, root for injuries to give the Pittsburgh Steelers a competitive advantage. There’s nothing personal; in fact, it’s the ultimate sign of respect. For example, I like Tom Brady, I have the ultimate respect for Tom Brady…and every single week, I root for Tom Brady to break his leg. Not only is it okay to root for injuries to give our Steelers a competitive advantage; I postulate that it’s required. You are less of a fan if you don’t do it.

And, please spare us the BS of not wanting to give the other team and their fans any excuses, any legitimacy to their whining. They can whine all they want, who cares, let ‘em cry. In fact, I rather enjoy it. The ONLY thing that matters are Steelers victories.