PDA

View Full Version : What's wrong with Vista?

Hammer67
11-03-2008, 09:16 AM
Warning…geeky stuff ahead…

Let me preface by saying, I work in IT, have a degree in it and have been building and working on computers since the early DOS days (20+ years).

One thing you run across in the computer world, if you live it everyday, is an anti-Microsoft state of mind from a lot of people. For whatever reason, people who are fans of either Linux or Mac OS have some crazy emotional attachment to their platform of choice and spend their time just denouncing Microsoft. It is borderline hysteria and I have to say, totally biased.

I installed Vista when it first came out. I usually am an early adopter. I never had a problem. There is so much vitriol out there over Vista that it is sometimes funny. Is it worth the upgrade from XP?? Probably not to most people. Is it a terrible OS?? Absolutely not. I happen to like it a lot. It is a much more aesthetically pleasing OS then XP which manages RAM better, has more built in security (although that is an annoyance for IT smart peeps).

I currently have a dual boot system with the latest Ubuntu Linux distro and Vista 64bit. Let me just bust the Linux bubble right now. Ubuntu is touted as the most “user friendly” and “dumbed down” version of Linux. Ok, fine. Only problem is that Ubuntu did not find my wireless networking card, my sound card, and installed a generic graphics driver for my video card…

Vista, found all three and installed the latest drivers for each….it installed with very little tweaking in about 30 minutes.

I spent an entire weekend trying to get my wireless adapter working in Ubuntu. You end up having to use a Windows driver for it and “wrapping” it into Linux!!!! What??!!!

Moral of story, Linux has a long way to go before it becomes a home user platform that overtakes Microsoft market share.