PDA

View Full Version : I'm all for self-mutilation, but...

Hammer67
01-14-2009, 01:52 PM
So I am in Target getting a few things for the Mrs., like baby formula and cereal, etc. I go to the check out line and the guy and girl in front of me looked to be in their 20’s, mid to late. Definitely not high school kids. They had piercing all over their faces and she was wearing dark, Goth-like makeup and he had spiked hair. I’m talking bars in the lips, nose, eyebrow, etc. And that’s just what I could see.

I didn’t say anything but I was definitely curious. What is it that would lead someone to want to self mutilate so much? I mean, is there a reason for it? Is it to be different? To feel better about yourself? Did you lack an identity as a kid growing up? Were your parents that way? It's not as if it's a cultural statement like some African tribes.

I am not being critical, I just don’t understand that. I mean, I am a manager and if someone came in looking for a job looking like that, my immediate reaction would probably be negative…which is probably unfair to the person. But, you have to wonder why they would knowingly choose to draw so much attention to themselves?

Now, I can understand a tattoo here and there, but I would put people who have whole body tattoos in that category, as well...

:noidea:

SteelCityKing
01-14-2009, 01:56 PM
So I am in Target getting a few things for the Mrs., like baby formula and cereal, etc. I go to the check out line and the guy and girl in front of me looked to be in their 20’s, mid to late. Definitely not high school kids. They had piercing all over their faces and she was wearing dark, Goth-like makeup and he had spiked hair. I’m talking bars in the lips, nose, eyebrow, etc. And that’s just what I could see.