PDA

View Full Version : Comp. Techies.. give me some help here.

Preacher
04-29-2009, 02:33 AM
Ok.

So I am back to the place where I am going to have to buy a new computer.

I have a few choices... However, here is one I am seriously thinking about.

Building my own computer. I have never done it before. I have installed memory and also installed a video card before.

I have done a little research concerning CPU's, Motherboards, etc, and want 1333FBS at the minimum and what may be a quad 2 or an I7 chip, however, as I have read around, I am not too impressed with the I7's yet.

I also want a 10,000 RPM hard drive (willing to have smaller drive for the speed as I have about 3 external hardrives laying around that I can attach for secondary files).

Lastly, I am looking at a 3 monitor flat screen setup.

Now, I know that I can build it, but I want to hear from those of you who know hardware. . . is it worth building it, or should I buy a prebuilt one? After all, I am going to have to buy windows for it as well, including Office. I can't budge on that as I need the OS for some of the work I do at school.

So what do you think? Is it worth it? and how inexpensive do you think I can build this things sans monitors.

MasterOfPuppets
04-29-2009, 04:17 AM
I have installed memory and also installed a video card before.

http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/880/chimpcomputer.jpg (http://img521.imageshack.us/my.php?image=chimpcomputer.jpg)

:rofl:

Preacher
04-29-2009, 05:49 AM
http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/880/chimpcomputer.jpg (http://img521.imageshack.us/my.php?image=chimpcomputer.jpg)

:buttkick:

:chuckle:

Steelman16
04-29-2009, 07:11 AM
:toofunny: @ pic

Building your own computer is the best way to go IMO. I built mine, and you get more quality for less money than the pre-built package systems. (except maybe alienware)

The two most important questions though, are;

1. What is your budget?