lamberts-lost-tooth
12-26-2009, 04:06 PM
I'm new to making mocks and I was just wondering if someone could say:
How many picks we have
Who they think is staying
Who they think is leaving
What positions do we need
What are a few specific players that fit our 3-4

Alot of this is subjective...but I believe our top three positions of need are NT...Safety...and Left tackle.

I believe we will not resign Hampton. There are two very good 3-4 NT's in this coming draft so that may be a first round possibility.

Our lack of depth in the defensive backfield has been very obvious so we may pick up a safety early.....with the possibility of eventually picking up two safeties or a safety/CB combination.

LT has been a problem for a couple of years and I see no young blood on the roster who can play the left side,

......so I think we will see these three positions taking priority with the nod going to towards our picking up a NT first....only because the position is so hard to fill.

I think Reed may be let go so look for a 4th or 5th round kicker or FA to be brought in.

Parker may be a casualty, but since RB isnt a high priority, we may wait until the later rounds to pick up a "project" or lower division back.....so In the later rounds I think that we will fill "depth" positions at OLB/ILB/RB and another DB like I mentioned earlier.

TE is also another late round possibility depending on if Tomlin decides that the Spaeth experiment is over.

I think the projection for draft picks, at this time, are:

Round 1
Round 2
Round 3a
Round 3b
Round 4
Round 5a
Round 5b
Round 6
Round 7

As far as specific players we might be looking at...our draft could look something like this:

Round 1: NT Dan Williams
Round 2: OT Jason Fox
Round 3a: SS Barry Church
Round 3b: ILB Micah Johnson
Round 4: CB Sherrick McManis
Round 5a: Kicker Leigh Tiffin
Round 5b: DE Jeffrey Fitzgerald
Round 6: OLB Arthur Moats
Round 7: RB Joique Bell

Texasteel
12-26-2009, 06:11 PM