PDA

View Full Version : 2010 Spring Training Thread

Borski
02-10-2010, 10:35 PM
I can't wait, I know every year they let me down but when it gets to this time of year I am just psyched for baseball season.

I'm going to a few games down here in Florida and because I usually work over the summer in PA I get to go to a few games up there. Even though I'm a Florida resident I have been to at least one game a season for the past 6 or so years strait and been to a couple in 3 rivers.

Who else is excited for the season?

Borski
03-02-2010, 11:44 AM
http://pittsburgh.pirates.mlb.com/news/boxscore.jsp?gid=2010_03_02_macbbc_pitmlb_1

Pirates Vs Manatee-Sarasota

Alvarez gets the first RBI of the Pirates for spring training

X-Terminator
03-02-2010, 11:50 AM
Honestly, I hope Alvarez impresses so much in ST that the Pirates have no choice but to take him north. But I know it won't happen, because that would put plenty of asses in the seats, and we can't have that. I expect him to be a June call-up just like A-Cutch was last season.

Borski
03-02-2010, 01:50 PM
Alvarez batted .750 today, not to shabby

pittsburghp8baller
03-03-2010, 08:40 AM
Looking forward to watching the Pirates on the MLB network today, Maholm and Ohlendorf are set to pitch i think an inning each. Dont know about the hitters but i noticed that the Pirates dont usually take any regulars on the road with them, would be awesome if T. Sanchez played.

And XT, ill say the same about Alvarez i said about Cutch last year, This makes sense- both money and baseball sense. First off we delay a year of arbitration by doing so. Second, well lets face it, Pirates arent going to break the streak this year. Instead of letting him go through a whole season of that, let him build his confidence in the minors and then while he is hot move him up. Could be a fresh breath of air to a struggling team.