PDA

View Full Version : What Should I Do?

beSteelmyheart
03-21-2006, 05:35 PM
I have a strange dilemna that I need some advice & opinions on, & was hoping that yinz could help a girl out..
My fiancee sells football cards on ebay & yesterday had a buyer that we think is a pro football player. There are alot of clues to his identity, plus he is buying alot of his own cards, plus some old reels from his dad's college days. Yesterday I sent him a short email asking if he is who we think he is, in a nice, non-groveling way, but we don't expect him to answer.
Now, here is my problem: I'm a portrait artist that wants to get into doing football art, & have a portrait of Ben going right now-the stuff I am capable of is getting to be professional, & I want to break into the business..
Should I email this guy asking if he wants his portrait done (since he is collecting stuff of himself) or should I let it go & not invade his privacy?
He's not a Steeler, but I could make his team colors look very nice, plus design & build a custom metal frame system specifically for the peice that would look awesome.
What do you think? Bug him, or leave him alone?
Here is a link to my Ben portrait...keep in mind that it is not finished!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v301/beSteelmyheart/morebenart003.jpg

SteelerDan43
03-21-2006, 05:43 PM
I would say do the potrait with out bugging him then put it on ebay and send a link to the guy since he is a "prefered customer" that has bought memorabilia of that player before. If he doesnt buy it it is just more experience as a painter!

Suitanim
03-21-2006, 05:51 PM
Strike while the iron is hot...how many other chances will you have like this?

tony hipchest
03-21-2006, 05:58 PM
Strike while the iron is hot...how many other chances will you have like this?

hell yeah, bug him. after all he is buying stuff off you and your husband. he is a customer of YOURS. extend an offer that may turn into a busines opportunity or atleast an acquaintance.