PDA

View Full Version : Carpenters in Pittsburgh area?

SoCalFan
02-18-2011, 10:56 AM
Im a Union finish Carpenter in the L.A. O.C. area of Cali. I was just wondering how the market is in that area of Pa. for Union Carpenters?Any tradesperson in the building trades can chime in ie.electricians,pipefitters,drywallers,plumbers etc...

ricardisimo
02-18-2011, 08:08 PM
You leaving town for work, or adventure, or something else? I have to assume that, despite the housing bubble and everything else, we're still a lot better off here in Southern Cal. Longer work year, too, remember. No snow.

MasterOfPuppets
02-18-2011, 11:44 PM
You leaving town for work, or adventure, or something else? I have to assume that, despite the housing bubble and everything else, we're still a lot better off here in Southern Cal. Longer work year, too, remember. No snow.
union construction workers don't usually do residential work. most union work is government funded projects.

MACH1
02-19-2011, 03:11 AM

:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:

Now thats some funny shit.

ricardisimo
02-20-2011, 12:53 AM
union construction workers don't usually do residential work. most union work is government funded projects.
That's not entirely true. Most every contractor in town here is union. That's for all kinds of work, from general home repair and maintenance to building highway forms.

Mind you, not everyone working under the head contractor on non-government jobs is union... most of them aren't even citizens, I'd venture to guess. But the head contractor and the apprentices are.

MasterOfPuppets
02-20-2011, 12:58 PM
That's not entirely true. Most every contractor in town here is union. That's for all kinds of work, from general home repair and maintenance to building highway forms.

Mind you, not everyone working under the head contractor on non-government jobs is union... most of them aren't even citizens, I'd venture to guess. But the head contractor and the apprentices are.