PDA

View Full Version : Steelers Vs. Redskins Result


SteelCityMom
08-12-2011, 09:55 PM
Steelers Vs. Redskins Result: Steelers Soundly Beaten By Final Score Of 16-7

Aug 12 10:40p by Charlie Wilmoth (http://pittsburgh.sbnation.com/authors/charlie-wilmoth)
Read More: Byron Leftwich (QB - PIT) (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2448/byron-leftwich), Rex Grossman (QB - WAS) (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/3088/rex-grossman), Isaac Redman (RB - PIT) (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71874/isaac-redman), Antonio Brown (WR - PIT) (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/108636/antonio-brown), Pittsburgh Steelers (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/pittsburgh-steelers), Washington Redskins (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/washington-redskins)
The final score was just 16-7, but the Pittsburgh Steelers (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/pittsburgh-steelers) were beaten badly by the Washington Redskins (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/washington-redskins) in their first preseason game.

Now, obviously, itís a preseason game, so thereís no reason to freak out, but there wasnít much to like about this one. There werenít many skill players who did all that well Ė Antonio Brown (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/108636/antonio-brown) had a nice game, Isaac Redman (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71874/isaac-redman) had a great touchdown run, and you could maybe add Byron Leftwich (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2448/byron-leftwich) to that category, but thatís about it.

The Steelersí defense, including its first-team defense (minus Troy Polamalu and James Harrison, it should be pointed out), was soundly beaten by Rex Grossman (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/3088/rex-grossman) and the Redskinsí passing attack, and Grossman and Kellen Clemens (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/1216/kellen-clemens) combined for 312 yards passing. The scoring total would have been higher for the Redskins if not for two ugly field-goal misses by Shayne Graham (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2570/shayne-graham) (who was replaced mid-game by Graham Gano (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71667/graham-gano), who fared far better).

The Steelersí offense couldnít do much either. Dennis Dixon (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/34443/dennis-dixon) played the end of the game alongside mostly undrafted-free-agent types and didnít get much help from them, but he still managed to go only 1-for-10, the one completion being a completion downfield to big rookie Eric Greenwood (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/133060/eric-greenwood) after a nifty scramble. That aside, Dixon did little to convince other teams that he should be a starter. Also, wide receiver Arnaz Battle (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2071/arnaz-battle) had a very poor game, dropping at least a couple balls.

On the bright side, Cameron Heyward (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/131076/cameron-heyward) had a spectacular tackle that demonstrated some serious brute strength, punters Daniel Sepulveda and Jeremy Kapinos (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/1244/jeremy-kapinos) both mostly looked great, and the two teams generally played a clean game that didnít feature many penalties. But the Steelers have a lot to work on between now and the start of the regular season.

http://pittsburgh.sbnation.com/2011/8/12/2360554/steelers-vs-redskins-result-final-score-dennis-dixon-isaac-redman

BKAnthem
08-13-2011, 03:52 AM
getting Ripped Apart By Rex Grossman??? That's sooome secondary depth we've go there...Colbert s unwillingness to heavily invest in the secondary and Oline the last 4 years is coming back to bite us in the ass

steeltheone
08-13-2011, 05:55 AM
getting Ripped Apart By Rex Grossman??? That's sooome secondary depth we've go there...Colbert s unwillingness to heavily invest in the secondary and Oline the last 4 years is coming back to bite us in the ass

Its not an investment thats the problem...Just plain poor drafting!

Whodis
08-13-2011, 06:51 AM
I'd like to welcome myself back (massive OT is a hell of a thing).

preseason is so disturbing to watch!. Vanilla defense along with no pass rush is really dilusional.

Worilds still looks great and Redman still looks better then Moore IMO

solardave
08-13-2011, 07:02 AM
First preseason game and we should mail it in. It's over for the season. We stink. We're gonna loooooose ever game!!!!

Of course I'm recording it today on NFL net and probably won't watch it til Sun.

Seriously though preseason is what it is. Nothing to worry about unless a starter blows out a knee or something like that. I put absolutely NO stock in what we look like in PS games.

Not to mention the lockout (and I don't care what they say about players uniting to form their own OTA's) hurt and left us with little time to prepare. If players could coach they would be coaches. Not a wannabee like me.