Steelers Fever Forums

Steelers Fever Forums (
-   Pittsburgh Steelers (
-   -   Newbie rules question. (

Stu Pidasso 11-11-2007 11:01 PM

Newbie rules question.
Sorry for the n00b question guys, but here goes:

The rules state that intentional grounding by the quarterback is when a QB intentionally throws an incomplete pass to nobody while he is within the tackles.

So when the QB spikes the ball to stop the clock, is that also intentional grounding? Why or why not?

Dynasty 11-11-2007 11:11 PM

Re: Newbie rules question.
no its recognized as being designed to do that... its just a clock killer and whoever makes the rules realizes that so its not a penalty... i dont know that for sure, but it sounds about right to me.

jjpro11 11-11-2007 11:15 PM

Re: Newbie rules question.
it sounds like one of those "common sense" type rules.. like in college football, the place holder is technically down by rules when he catches the ball for the kicker to kick.. but since its for a kick, the rule is disregarded.

Rhee Rhee 11-12-2007 01:38 AM

Re: Newbie rules question.
i never thought of that college rule...

Physical Presence 11-12-2007 05:20 AM

Re: Newbie rules question.
To be ruled intentional grounding, the QB has to be trying to avoid a loss. That isn't the case with clocking the ball. He's tryiing to kill the clock, two totally different things.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Shoutbox provided by vBShout v6.2.1 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.8 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Navbar with Avatar by Motorradforum