Steelers Fever Forums

Steelers Fever Forums (http://forums.steelersfever.com/index.php)
-   Locker Room (http://forums.steelersfever.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Comp. Techies.. give me some help here. (http://forums.steelersfever.com/showthread.php?t=35575)

Preacher 04-29-2009 03:33 AM

Comp. Techies.. give me some help here.

Ok.

So I am back to the place where I am going to have to buy a new computer.

I have a few choices... However, here is one I am seriously thinking about.

Building my own computer. I have never done it before. I have installed memory and also installed a video card before.

I have done a little research concerning CPU's, Motherboards, etc, and want 1333FBS at the minimum and what may be a quad 2 or an I7 chip, however, as I have read around, I am not too impressed with the I7's yet.

I also want a 10,000 RPM hard drive (willing to have smaller drive for the speed as I have about 3 external hardrives laying around that I can attach for secondary files).

Lastly, I am looking at a 3 monitor flat screen setup.

Now, I know that I can build it, but I want to hear from those of you who know hardware. . . is it worth building it, or should I buy a prebuilt one? After all, I am going to have to buy windows for it as well, including Office. I can't budge on that as I need the OS for some of the work I do at school.

So what do you think? Is it worth it? and how inexpensive do you think I can build this things sans monitors.

MasterOfPuppets 04-29-2009 05:17 AM

Re: Comp. Techies.. give me some help here.

Quote:

I have installed memory and also installed a video card before.

[IMG]http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/8...mpcomputer.jpg[/IMG]

:rofl:

Preacher 04-29-2009 06:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MasterOfPuppets (Post 599063)

:buttkick:

:chuckle:

Steelman16 04-29-2009 08:11 AM

:toofunny: @ pic