Steelers Fever Forums

Steelers Fever Forums (http://forums.steelersfever.com/index.php)
-   Locker Room (http://forums.steelersfever.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Techie... DONE Kinda (http://forums.steelersfever.com/showthread.php?t=35907)

Preacher 05-15-2009 08:08 AM

Techie... DONE Kinda
 
Well, I am posting from my new machine... It is VERY fast. Specs later.. and pics.

The one problem? I can only get one vid card to work... remember, I am only trying to get 4 screens, not trying to SLI the cards.

So I am going to pull the card the computer recognizes out tomorrow and start with the other card... the power house card.

Let's see what that does.

SteelersinCA 05-15-2009 10:12 AM

Re: Techie... DONE Kinda
 
make sure you have the 280 in the x16 slot.

Preacher 05-15-2009 06:14 PM

Re: Techie... DONE Kinda
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SteelersinCA (Post 605924)
make sure you have the 280 in the x16 slot.

Yeah, I did that. I am going to pull out the Sparkle card and try and boot with ONLY the 280-- after clearing out the drivers and and uninstalling the card. I hope that'll do it. I REALLY don't wana RMA the thing.

Preacher 05-15-2009 09:31 PM

Re: Techie... DONE Kinda
 
IT CRASHED!!!

I was updating the bios. Didn't recognize the OS aftwards :doh:

Used the restore point after about an hour of dealing with it. Luckily, it is working again. Now on to fixing the vid card. Arghhh

MasterOfPuppets 05-15-2009 09:50 PM

Re: Techie... DONE Kinda
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Preacher (Post 606083)
IT CRASHED!!!. Arghhh



[IMG]http://img31.imageshack.us/img31/416/chimp.jpg[/IMG]

SteelersinCA 05-15-2009 11:24 PM

Re: Techie... DONE Kinda
 
I'd wait on a bios update until you have it running for a week or two, no need to update the bios right away, make sure she's stable first

Preacher 05-16-2009 01:15 AM

Re: Techie... DONE Kinda
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SteelersinCA (Post 606112)
I'd wait on a bios update until you have it running for a week or two, no need to update the bios right away, make sure she's stable first

Alright... Up and running... all four screens running good... That's right.. FOUR.

Also figured out what the crash was... Computer was trying to boot off a external HD.

Pics to come.

stillers4me 05-16-2009 08:58 AM

Re: Techie... DONE Kinda
 
Nice job, Preacher! My son can build computers from scratch. This time around, he just bought one and will beef it up as he goes along.

I bet it feels good to have done it all yourself!

SteelersinCA 05-16-2009 11:36 AM

Re: Techie... DONE Kinda
 
Nice work!

Preacher 05-16-2009 11:41 AM

Re: Techie... DONE Kinda
 
OK. The card works. 2verything works ansd it MOVES. However while rendering video core temps get up into the 90's C. So I am going to replace the stock heat sink and paste


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Shoutbox provided by vBShout v6.2.1 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.8 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Navbar with Avatar by Motorradforum