Steelers Fever Forums

Steelers Fever Forums (http://forums.steelersfever.com/index.php)
-   Pittsburgh Steelers (http://forums.steelersfever.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Wolfley: New era of offseason conditioning..... (http://forums.steelersfever.com/showthread.php?t=7711)

DIESELMAN 06-07-2006 08:29 AM

Wolfley: New era of offseason conditioning.....

Off-season conditioning is no longer drudgery. The addition of yoga and boxing to a player's regimen, says former lineman Craig Wolfley, is like adding high-octane jet fuel to a tractor. Here's the rundown.

http://media.scout.com/Media/Image/29/291338.jpg

Offseason training for NFL players has certainly changed since I was a rookie with the Pittsburgh Steelers.
When I first arrived in the ?burgh 26 years ago, and played through to the end of the season, the next time I saw any of my teammates was at St. Vincent College for the annual Hope You Can Survive Chuck training camp. Getting together for off-season training wasn't in vogue at the time.

Offseason conditioning back in the day was left to the individual; no organized training protocol existed. The annual running test consisted of five 350-yard runs all done in 60-65 seconds with only 40 seconds rest between each run (I still haven?t figured that math out). You proved your dedication to running on your own recognizance. In other words, as long as you didn?t fall out or yak on a teammate, you were good to go.

The strength test consisted of the notorious ?Oklahoma? one-on-one drive blocking, slay-the-loser gladiator spectacular. Oh, for the good old days.

Offseason training has evolved from ?do your own thing, just make sure you're ready to prove it at camp? to a detailed, mapped out progression. And forget the simple squat, bench, and deadlift formula of the powerlifters as in the days of old. That too has gone the way of zubaz (80?s-style fat-guy sweat pants that I loved), courteous drivers on the Parkway and Jerry Garcia.