Originally Posted by BigCat
And why can't we hit a QB in the legs.? I've seen plenty of quarterbacks get hit in the legs already this season. I think you have your rules mixed up. At no point can a QB be hit in the helmet.
A player can not intentionally dive at a quarterbacks kness if he's standing still and has a clear shot at the QB. Ben was not standing still and Castillo did not have a clear shot. Castillo lunged towards Ben. Ben just happened to step into where Castillo had landed. No harm, no foul. You won the game and Ben will be okay.
There is a rule about hitting below the knees. Scroll down to the section called "Protection of Passer"...
4. No defensive player who has an unrestricted path to the quarterback may hit him flagrantly in the area of the knee(s) or below when approaching in any direction.