Could Defenses Manipulate New Rule?
This year the NFL introduced a new ruling that basically states that a delay of game penalty (5 yards) will be assessed if a player spikes the ball after a play (see penalty on Evans last week.)
Now, if the receiver gains a first down, the offense keeps the first down, but starts 1st and 15. Couldn't a defensive player just kick the ball after an offensive player spikes it, earn a delay of game penalty, and create a scenario with offsetting penalties and redo the play...basically nullifying the first down?
I could be totally wrong on this, just looking for some insight.