View Single Post
Old 06-10-2008, 02:05 PM   #1
Head Coach
pittsburghp8baller's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: In A Place Where There Is No Other Hockey Fans!!!!!!
Posts: 1,874
Gender: Male
Member Number: 5365
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Deserving Bucs Lacking All-Star Votes

Come on Yall We Got Some Pirates Who Deserve A All-Star

PITTSBURGH -- The Pirates' starting outfield has been quietly putting up impressive numbers all season. Apparently, they should speak up, because center fielder Nate McLouth is the only one garnering 2008 All-Star votes, while corner outfielders Jason Bay and Xavier Nady are outside the top-15 vote-getters in the outfield.
All three are either in or around the top five in several individual offensive categories in the National League. And they have combined for only two errors.

"All three of them deserve serious All-Star mention," Pirates fourth outfielder Jason Michaels said last week.

June is an important month when it comes to All-Star balloting, and historically there have been several lead changes.

Pirates fans can help Bay, McLouth and Nady keep that trend going by voting for the outfielders and their favorite Bucs up to 25 times with the Monster 2008 All-Star Game Online Ballot at and all 30 club sites until Wednesday, July 2, at 11:59 p.m. ET. Starting rosters will be announced during the 2008 All-Star Game Selection Show presented by Chevrolet on TBS on Sunday, July 6. Baseball fans around the world will then be able to select the final player on each team via the Monster 2008 All-Star Final Vote at

And the voting doesn't end there. Fans will have the opportunity to participate in the official voting for the Ted Williams Most Valuable Player presented by Chevrolet at the All-Star Game via the Monster 2008 All-Star Game MVP vote at

The 79th Major League Baseball All-Star Game, being held at Yankee Stadium in its final season, will be televised nationally by FOX, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and Sportsnet HD, and televised around the world by Major League Baseball International, with pregame ceremonies beginning at 8 p.m. ET. ESPN Radio will provide exclusive national radio coverage, while will provide extensive online coverage. XM will provide satellite radio play-by-play coverage of the XM All-Star Futures Game.

The Midsummer Classic will be the fourth held at Yankee Stadium and the eighth in New York City. The Yankees previously hosted the All-Star Game in 1939, 1960 and 1977; the Polo Grounds held the game in 1934 and 1942; Ebbets Field was the site in 1949; and Shea Stadium hosted the 1964 tilt.

In addition to online voting, in-stadium voting at PNC Park continues through June 20.

The other current NL leading vote-getters include: catcher Geovany Soto (Chicago), first baseman Lance Berkman (Houston), second baseman Chase Utley (Philadelphia), third baseman Chipper Jones (Atlanta) and shortstop Miguel Tejada (Houston). Alfonso Soriano (Chicago), Kosuke Fukudome (Chicago) and Ken Griffey Jr. (Cincinnati) are the top three vote-getters in the outfield.

pittsburghp8baller is offline   Reply With Quote