Originally Posted by WeegiesWarriors
Actually it does. They called it incomplete through replay review which means Ward was a defenseless receiver at the time of the hit. Had they called it a fumble then that would mean that he would have made the catch, turned up field, and became a ball carrier and helmet to helmet is no longer a penalty or fine-able offense.
The NFL dropped it here. They ruled on the field that it was incomplete. A 15 yard penalty should have been thrown number 1. Number 2 a fine should be given to the defender. He hit helmet to helmet what was determined to be a defenseless receiver. He clearly led with the helmet
Pretty hard to argue when it's put like that. Well said.