Originally Posted by Ravnet
I'm not sure of the exact procedures, but don't you have to twist the facemask for it to be a penalty?
I understand that this call still could have been made, but if the rule is that you must twist for a foul to be issued, then it is not nearly as blatant as you all are whining about, nor would it potentially be an infraction at all.
"no player shall twist, turn, or pull the facemask of an opponent in any direction."
He clearly "pulled" his facemask, therefore it was a penalty. No, you don't have to twist. Twisting, turning and pulling of the facemask all result in a fifteen yard penalty.
A "facemask" penalty is a judgment call that is not reviewable by replay.
Rule 12, Section 2, Article 5 of the NFL Rule Book (page 81) states that "no player shall twist, turn, or pull the facemask of an opponent in any direction."
The Rule Book describes the penalty as follows:
"Penalty: For twisting, turning or pulling the mask: loss of 15 yards. A personal foul. The player may be disqualified if the action is judged by the official(s) to be of a flagrant nature."