Why register with the Steelers Fever Forums?
 • Intelligent and friendly discussions.
 • It's free and it's quick. Always.
 • Enter events in the forums calendar.
 • Very user friendly software.
 • Exclusive contests and giveaways.

 Donate to Steelers Fever, Click here
 Our 2014 Goal: $450.00 - To Date: $450.00 (100.00%)
 Home | Forums | Editorials | Shop | Tickets | Downloads | Contact Pittsburgh Steelers Forum Feed Not Just Fans. Hardcore Fans.

Go Back   Steelers Fever Forums > Steelers Football > Pittsburgh Steelers


Steelers Fever Fan Shop

Doc's Sports Get FREE NFL Picks and College Football picks as well as Football Lines like live NFL Lines and updated NFL Power Rankings all at Doc's Sports Service.

Steelers Bucs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2007, 10:01 PM   #1
Stu Pidasso
Assistant Coach
Supporter
 
Stu Pidasso's Avatar
Default Newbie rules question.

Sorry for the n00b question guys, but here goes:

The rules state that intentional grounding by the quarterback is when a QB intentionally throws an incomplete pass to nobody while he is within the tackles.

So when the QB spikes the ball to stop the clock, is that also intentional grounding? Why or why not?
Stu Pidasso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 10:11 PM   #2
Dynasty
Assistant Coach
 
Dynasty's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Steel City
Posts: 1,286
Gender: Male
Member Number: 2396
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Newbie rules question.

no its recognized as being designed to do that... its just a clock killer and whoever makes the rules realizes that so its not a penalty... i dont know that for sure, but it sounds about right to me.
__________________
Dynasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 10:15 PM   #3
jjpro11
Living Legend
 
jjpro11's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Near Cleveland
Posts: 4,044
Member Number: 3559
Thanks: 0
Thanked 149 Times in 69 Posts
Default Re: Newbie rules question.

it sounds like one of those "common sense" type rules.. like in college football, the place holder is technically down by rules when he catches the ball for the kicker to kick.. but since its for a kick, the rule is disregarded.
jjpro11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 12:38 AM   #4
Rhee Rhee
Head Coach
 
Rhee Rhee's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 808 state
Posts: 1,890
Gender: Male
Member Number: 7579
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Newbie rules question.

i never thought of that college rule...
Rhee Rhee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 04:20 AM   #5
Physical Presence
Water Boy
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 18
Gender: Male
Member Number: 2583
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Newbie rules question.

To be ruled intentional grounding, the QB has to be trying to avoid a loss. That isn't the case with clocking the ball. He's tryiing to kill the clock, two totally different things.
Physical Presence is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Shoutbox provided by vBShout v6.2.1 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.8 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Navbar with Avatar by Motorradforum
no new posts