Why register with the Steelers Fever Forums?
 • Intelligent and friendly discussions.
 • It's free and it's quick. Always.
 • Enter events in the forums calendar.
 • Very user friendly software.
 • Exclusive contests and giveaways.

 Donate to Steelers Fever, Click here
 Our 2014 Goal: $450.00 - To Date: $450.00 (100.00%)
 Home | Forums | Editorials | Shop | Tickets | Downloads | Contact Pittsburgh Steelers Forum Feed Not Just Fans. Hardcore Fans.

Go Back   Steelers Fever Forums > Miscellaneous > Locker Room


Steelers Fever Fan Shop

Doc's Sports Get FREE NFL Picks and College Football picks as well as Football Lines like live NFL Lines and updated NFL Power Rankings all at Doc's Sports Service.

Steelers

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-24-2009, 01:23 AM   #1
Preacher
Living Legend
 

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,890
Member Number: 16327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Techie... Overclocking.

OK.

Like an idiot, I couldn't leave my new computer alone, so now I am overclocking it.

I got it up to 3.78 at 165 MHz However, I am trying to break the 4. barrier.

Dang dang dang... I have adjusted the Vcore, the CPU-VTT, but nothing stable over 3.78 yet.

What are you all running at?
Preacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 01:53 AM   #2
SteelersinCA
Team Owner
Supporter
 
SteelersinCA's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,537
Gender: Male
Member Number: 9302
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Techie... Overclocking.

I left mine at 3.8. I couldn't get above that on air cooling under load. I like my temps below 80c. I like to be safe. Check the evga.com forums they have terrific OCing guides on there.
SteelersinCA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 10:41 AM   #3
Preacher
Living Legend
 

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,890
Member Number: 16327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Techie... Overclocking.

Yeah, thing is, I had to back it down to 3.6 to be stable. I have read that 4.2 is doable on air. With the case I have and the new heatsink and fan, I should be able to hit it. I just can't figure out how to overclock the thing properly.
Preacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 11:59 AM   #4
stillers4me
Living Legend
 
stillers4me's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8,670
Gender: Female
Member Number: 2656
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Techie... Overclocking.

HUH?
__________________
"We're not going to turn our backs on him," Ward said. "We're going to treat him like our brother. We're going to accept him back and be very supportive of him and help him get through this. In this locker room, he's still our quarterback."
stillers4me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 12:28 PM   #5
xfl2001fan
Living Legend
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 3,641
Gender: Male
Member Number: 8741
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Techie... Overclocking.

You shouldn't need to be above 3.6 anyways. You're trying to add HP to a 350 engine. At that point, it's more about bragging rights.
__________________
If you take the "U" out of "STUD", you get STD. I'm just saying.
xfl2001fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 12:41 PM   #6
JEFF4i
Banned
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 776
Gender: Male
Member Number: 10645
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Techie... Overclocking.

Preacher...you're a curious case there Father.
JEFF4i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 12:59 PM   #7
Preacher
Living Legend
 

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,890
Member Number: 16327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Techie... Overclocking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xfl2001fan View Post
You shouldn't need to be above 3.6 anyways. You're trying to add HP to a 350 engine. At that point, it's more about bragging rights.
Yep!

No, seriously, it is also about me just pushing a system I built to see the limitations. I just enjoy the challenge.
Preacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 01:03 PM   #8
Preacher
Living Legend
 

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,890
Member Number: 16327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Techie... Overclocking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JEFF4i View Post
Preacher...you're a curious case there Father.



Yeah... it was either get into computing again, or cars... and cars are WAY too expensive to work on.

This is a real stressful job. So something like computers is a joy that takes my mind off of what I do here.

Wanna see a curious case? Think about the fact that I still drive down the road with Metallica playing in the car! I just refuse to listen to certain songs, like "The God that Failed"
Preacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 01:09 PM   #9
JEFF4i
Banned
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 776
Gender: Male
Member Number: 10645
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Techie... Overclocking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Preacher View Post


Yeah... it was either get into computing again, or cars... and cars are WAY too expensive to work on.

This is a real stressful job. So something like computers is a joy that takes my mind off of what I do here.

Wanna see a curious case? Think about the fact that I still drive down the road with Metallica playing in the car! I just refuse to listen to certain songs, like "The God that Failed"
Coolest, Father, ever. :)

Honestly, the Padre at my church growing up was a great guy, just not nearly as up to date as yourself. My gal's clocked at 3.6, I was feeling lazy and left it off there.
JEFF4i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 05:46 PM   #10
Preacher
Living Legend
 

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,890
Member Number: 16327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Techie... Overclocking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xfl2001fan View Post
You shouldn't need to be above 3.6 anyways. You're trying to add HP to a 350 engine. At that point, it's more about bragging rights.

Oh, and, um, excuse me, but if you are running a 351 Cleveland with a 4 barrel carb with 350 ponies under the hood, the heads and pistons already hardended and ready... If all it took was some time and NO MONEY, DONT TELL ME you wouldn't sneak a spacer plate between the carb and manifold... and hook up a little Nitro to the puppy.
Preacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Shoutbox provided by vBShout v6.2.1 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.8 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Navbar with Avatar by Motorradforum
no new posts