Why register with the Steelers Fever Forums?
 • Intelligent and friendly discussions.
 • It's free and it's quick. Always.
 • Enter events in the forums calendar.
 • Very user friendly software.
 • Exclusive contests and giveaways.

 Donate to Steelers Fever, Click here
 Our 2013 Goal: $400.00 - To Date: $00.00 (00.00%)
 Home | Forums | Editorials | Shop | Tickets | Downloads | Contact Pittsburgh Steelers Forum Feed Not Just Fans. Hardcore Fans.

Go Back   Steelers Fever Forums > Steelers Football > Pittsburgh Steelers


Steelers Fever Fan Shop

Doc's Sports Get FREE NFL Picks and College Football picks as well as Football Lines like live NFL Lines and updated NFL Power Rankings all at Doc's Sports Service.

Steelers Steelers - Bills Bills
August 16th, 2014, 7:30pmET

CBS
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2008, 07:14 PM   #1
JEFF4i
Banned
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 776
Gender: Male
Member Number: 10645
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default The Touchdown Call

THis is a differing thread in that I really want sourced proof on it one way or another.

I know in the other 3 ends of the endzone, the ball does not have to cross into the endzone, so long as the receiver has it and two feet down. Does this differ for the front line? If so, I forcefully ask you to give me some form of sourced material saying so. I want to know definitively.

Second question, it looks to mee on my 69" TV(hehe, just bragging) that the ball crossed the line at one point, but not necessarily when he had posession. Does the player have to have posession when the ball is across the line, concerning the front line?

Again, I ask, please give me some source for the answers if you can. I guess the real interest is if the front line has a different ruleset than the other 3.
JEFF4i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 07:23 PM   #2
SteelCityMan786
SF's Youngest Legend
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hollidaysburg PA
Posts: 19,587
Gender: Male
Member Number: 541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: The Touchdown Call

Quote:
Originally Posted by JEFF4i View Post
THis is a differing thread in that I really want sourced proof on it one way or another.

I know in the other 3 ends of the endzone, the ball does not have to cross into the endzone, so long as the receiver has it and two feet down. Does this differ for the front line? If so, I forcefully ask you to give me some form of sourced material saying so. I want to know definitively.

Second question, it looks to mee on my 69" TV(hehe, just bragging) that the ball crossed the line at one point, but not necessarily when he had posession. Does the player have to have posession when the ball is across the line, concerning the front line?

Again, I ask, please give me some source for the answers if you can. I guess the real interest is if the front line has a different ruleset than the other 3.
As far as I am aware no to question 1.

Question 2 No, because if the receiver has possession of the Football, he can fumble it, and the recover it and put it in the endzone.

I can not give you a good source on this, this is just how I am aware how to interpret the rule in question.
__________________

786 Ways To Score Touchdowns
SteelCityMan786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 07:30 PM   #3
Dino 6 Rings
Living Legend
 
Dino 6 Rings's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Arkansas (formerly New Jersey)
Posts: 8,248
Gender: Male
Member Number: 6891
Thanks: 17
Thanked 57 Times in 32 Posts
Default Re: The Touchdown Call

Touchdown: When any part of the ball, legally in possession of a player inbounds, breaks the plane of the opponent’s goal line, provided it is not a touchback.
__________________
SuperBowl Wins - How many does YOUR team have?
Steelers 6, 49ers 5, Cowboys 5, Packers 4, Giants 4, Redskins 3, Raiders 3, Pats 3, Broncos 2, Dolphins 2, Colts 2, Ravens 2 Bears 1,Jets 1, Bucs 1, Rams 1, Chiefs 1, Saints1
Dino 6 Rings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 07:42 PM   #4
Dino 6 Rings
Living Legend
 
Dino 6 Rings's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Arkansas (formerly New Jersey)
Posts: 8,248
Gender: Male
Member Number: 6891
Thanks: 17
Thanked 57 Times in 32 Posts
Default Re: The Touchdown Call

The ball crossed the line, hit Holmes in the hand, then he was hit from behind and the ball shifted from both hands to one hand as he was falling to the ground.

He had the ball, in both hands, with two feet down. No different than making the same catch at the back of the endzone and getting blasted out of bounds.

Same type of catch. The Catch was possession in both hands, feet down, ball over the line.

Done.
__________________
SuperBowl Wins - How many does YOUR team have?
Steelers 6, 49ers 5, Cowboys 5, Packers 4, Giants 4, Redskins 3, Raiders 3, Pats 3, Broncos 2, Dolphins 2, Colts 2, Ravens 2 Bears 1,Jets 1, Bucs 1, Rams 1, Chiefs 1, Saints1
Dino 6 Rings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 07:48 PM   #5
ShutDown24
Team President
 
ShutDown24's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,125
Gender: Male
Member Number: 3997
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: The Touchdown Call

The ball crossed the plane; Holmes had secure possession immediately after catching the ball.

It's more a judgement call, but they got it right. He did have possession with the ball crossing the plane.
__________________
ShutDown24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 07:55 PM   #6
blue2noise
Water Boy
 
blue2noise's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 36
Member Number: 8807
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: The Touchdown Call

blue2noise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 08:49 PM   #7
stlrtruck
THE PRINCESS' Daddy
Supporter
 
stlrtruck's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,783
Gender: Male
Member Number: 2398
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: The Touchdown Call

Quote:
Originally Posted by JEFF4i View Post
THis is a differing thread in that I really want sourced proof on it one way or another.

I know in the other 3 ends of the endzone, the ball does not have to cross into the endzone, so long as the receiver has it and two feet down. Does this differ for the front line? If so, I forcefully ask you to give me some form of sourced material saying so. I want to know definitively.

Second question, it looks to mee on my 69" TV(hehe, just bragging) that the ball crossed the line at one point, but not necessarily when he had posession. Does the player have to have posession when the ball is across the line, concerning the front line?

Again, I ask, please give me some source for the answers if you can. I guess the real interest is if the front line has a different ruleset than the other 3.

Yes according to rules on catching the ball in the endzone, he has to have possession of the ball in the endzone. If he were to bobble the ball and then catch outside the endzone, then the ball would be placed at the one. Because the ball did not bobble after it hit his chest, that is considered a catch.

For further clarification, I suggest you go to the NFL website and look at the rules. Either that or if you have the NFL Network watch for the head of officiating to explain it because I'm sure it will be one of the plays they look at this week.
__________________

60 Minutes, 53 Men, 6 Trophies,1 NATION. . .STEELERS NATION!!!
Sig courtesy of STEELAX04
stlrtruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 10:49 PM   #8
Moosebreath
Water Boy
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Member Number: 11026
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: The Touchdown Call

Quote:
Originally Posted by JEFF4i View Post
THis is a differing thread in that I really want sourced proof on it one way or another.

I know in the other 3 ends of the endzone, the ball does not have to cross into the endzone, so long as the receiver has it and two feet down. Does this differ for the front line? If so, I forcefully ask you to give me some form of sourced material saying so. I want to know definitively.

Second question, it looks to mee on my 69" TV(hehe, just bragging) that the ball crossed the line at one point, but not necessarily when he had posession. Does the player have to have posession when the ball is across the line, concerning the front line?

Again, I ask, please give me some source for the answers if you can. I guess the real interest is if the front line has a different ruleset than the other 3.
Here, I'll copy and paste my findings that I just posted in another thread.

Quote:

Here's an online copy of the 2007 rulebook. Keep in mind that no changes were made regarding touchdowns in the 2008 rules.

http://www.patscap.com/rulebook.pdf

Rule 11, Section 2, Article 1:

It is a touchdown:

(d) Any player who is legally inbounds catches or recovers a loose ball on or behind the opponent's goal line.


This rule would strongly imply that there is no need, in that type of situation, for the ball to break the plane of the goal line."
Moosebreath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 06:07 AM   #9
markymarc
Team Owner
Supporter
 
markymarc's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,589
Member Number: 2292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: The Touchdown Call

Well obviously this will be the most talked about play of the week. To me Holmes had possession when the ball hits his hands, both feet down and the tip of the ball is across the white line. Touchdown all the way. If anything the official that called it short screwed up.
markymarc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Shoutbox provided by vBShout v6.2.1 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.8 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Navbar with Avatar by Motorradforum
no new posts